The Writings on the Wall… or Bench

Posted on
My journey has taught me a lot about myself and one of the most astonishing discoveries I have made was I love the outdoors. Being surrounded by the beauty of nature brings a calmness over my body that I’ve never felt before. I’m sure there will be plenty of stories about my hobby of finding different trails all across Louisiana. But for now I’d like to share what I found on my last trip to West Monroe. It was the same day I made My official declaration. So this is a continuation of sorts from that story.

I decided to take a moment to sit down and think while taking advantage of that new-found calmness.   I  looked down and noticed there was writing scribbled along the bench. My snapshots may not do justice to this beautiful and unexpected artwork…

I”m not going to upload the series of pictures I captured of the writings, but here is what it said…

I must not fear. Fear is the mind killer.
Fear is the little death that brings total obliteration.
I will face my Fear. I will permit it to pass over me and through me.
And when it has gone past I will turn the inner eye to see where it is going.
Where the Fear has gone there will be nothing
Only I Will Remain.

-Author unknown

That was pretty powerful for me to discover that message at that exact moment, I took it as a sign that I should face my fears. One of my fears was starting this blog and publicly putting all my struggles, thoughts, and insecurities out there for any friend, foe, or stranger to stumble across. Being vulnerable to an unknown and faceless audience is intimidating but I must not fear. What if I announce this goal and am not able to reach it? Or my lack of writing skill hinders my ability to express myself sufficiently? Those are legitimate fears but I’m going to face them and know that in the end no matter what happens I’ll still be standing. Any words of wisdom that have helped you through difficult situations? Has fear stopped you from pursuing any goals that you have had for yourself? Nature lovers- Where’s your favorite outdoor escape?
3 responses »

  1. balancingharmony

    I love to walk anyplace near water. Ponds, natural or man made, I find particularly refreshing. After buying a treadmill I realized I hated exercising indoors. Guess it’s back outside to the elements, happy thoughts are only a walk away!

    Reply
  2. I love this. I love your honesty.

    One of our favorite spots (when it’s not 100 degrees outside) are the Hooper Rd. Mountain biking trails between Baker and Central. They’re actually a lot of fun to hike. Next time we go out when you’re in town, you are so coming with us. Armed with bug spray.

    And this fall? We are going to conquer Tunica Hills.

    Reply
    • Thanks!!! I am so there! I was hesitant to check that out because it was labeled as a mountain bike trail. And yes bug spray and sunscreen! And bring it on (Tunica Hills). And a 5k!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

