“If you fail to plan, then you plan to fail”

Posted on

Last week I did horribly with both food and exercising, so I sat to think what went wrong. It didn’t take long at all for me to see that I did not make any kind of plan for the week. Planning is one of my greatest assets, and when striving towards any goal it is important to use your strengths to your advantage.

 Friday afternoon or Monday morning is usually the best time for me to have my weekly planning session. I do not sit down and plan my entire week’s worth of meals in one day but I do plan how many times I can go out to eat for lunch that week. I print out a blank weekly calendar and I write in what days I’ll be doing what form of workouts. I chose not to do a meal plan for this week.

Monday Zumba class @ 6
Tuesday Free Day
Wednesday Mid day Gym (check out new gym) or Evening neighborhood walk
Thursday Gym or Evening neighborhood walk
Friday Gym after work
Saturday Morning neighborhood walk
Sunday Free Day

 This week I’ll attempt to avoid failure by making a plan, sharing it with all of you, and STICKING TO THAT PLAN. So my plan for this week is to get at least four workouts, eat out twice, and cook at least once.  This is not the normal format that I would use, but it’s just to give you some ideas about how you can make your weekly workout schedule. And you can easily download a blank template to make your weekly plan. (I tried unsucessfully to upload my own to show)

 I like to give myself a couple options so if I don’t go to the gym Wednesday afternoon I know I will have to go for a neighborhood walk that evening. And I also schedule an extra workout just to be ambitious. But I know that four out of five of these things have to be completed. And I’ll definitely let you know how this week goes.

I’m sure soon there will be tons of posts about all the different types of activities that I do for exercise and all the ones that I’ve tried and my likes and dislikes. But I’ll save that for another time. (I’ll try to make it sooner than later).

When you’re having your planning session don’t forget to schedule your workouts around any special events you have for that week. Nothing is worse than taking the time to put together a perfect schedule and realizing you have to change it because of an event you have that week. What are your fitness and workout goals for this week? Do you have any other strengths that help you out on your weight loss journey?

2 responses »

  1. Pingback: My Fat Moments « My Last Fat Year

Leave a Reply

