Cheaper ways to get fit

Posted on

From action65.com

My weight loss goals and financial goals are equally important to me. I know that I can achieve both but they are many times where I find that they are battling each other. I have a “strict” budget. And by “strict” I mean I have a well documented account of where all of my money goes but the rarely stick to that plan. However, my inability to stick to a budget is not the point here. The point is finding a happy marriage between budgeting and exercise. And to do this I have to find cheap ways to get fit.

Gym memberships may seem expensive and unnecessary, but I think it’s only not worth it if you don’t use it. It’s worth it to me because I can use it when I’m out of town in an unfamiliar area. My membership is less than $45 a month for a 24 hour gym with nationwide access. I would like to find an affordable gym that offers group workout classes and nationwide 24 hour access. If anyone knows of my dream gym please let me know.

I have found many other low-cost ways to exercise. Walking/jogging  has become a new-found hobby of mine. Parks and trails offer great scenery for a nice workout, and I also enjoy walking through my neighborhood. I have discovered a trail for every large city that I frequent (in Louisiana) and I’m always on the hunt for more. My church offers Zumba classes for $6 twice a week, which isn’t too bad. I’m signed up for Groupon, Living Social, and Bargain Bee which are all great ways to try new gyms and workouts without spending too much money. From there I’ve tried a month of boot camp classes, gym memberships, and discount pole dancing classes. Each of those things was under $30. I love trying out new activities without being committed to it or paying a hefty price tag.

Another inexpensive idea is to take advantage of the free passes that most gyms offer. Most of the time gyms will give you anywhere from a seven to thirty days free (or deeply discounted) to test them out. I’ve tried various gyms that way as well as yoga, Pilates, and kick boxing classes. I’m sure I’m leaving some things out but each one of those activities deserves their own post and I’ll be sure to get to it sooner than later.

I’m not a fan of workout tapes but that is a great way to get the most for your money. Or you can download apps that mimic weight loss tapes or trainers. I like the Nike Training Club app but I hardly use it because I can’t motivate myself to workout in my house. But if you can I think videos, apps, and the Internet are all budget friendly ways to workout.

What ways do you marry your physical and financial goals? Any ideas or activities to add to the list?

 

Weekly Progress Update:

So I changed my whole workout schedule this week because of a Groupon and iPhone app I bought Monday afternoon. I purchased the couch to 5k app that was recommended to me by my friend Bekah. (Check out her story about her purchase of the app here). The purpose of the app is to get you ready to RUN a 5k in 9 weeks! I’m really excited and totally perplexed by the idea at the same time. But I’m going to trust this program that I will be able to run a 5k in nine weeks. And I purchased a six-week gym membership for $25 so that I can have access to some group classes.

I’m still committing to four workouts this week and who knows I may even get one or two more in! So far I did the couch to 5k on Monday, Water Cardio class Tuesday and I’m planning on getting a Pilates class in today! What have you accomplished so far this week? Do you think I should have a weekly progress/plan update on each post? Would that be motivational or just too much information?

2 responses »

  1. You can also check with your cable company. I have comcast where there are ExerciseTV on demand, they offer everything from cardio, bootcamp, to yoga.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

