Don’t be afraid of the 5k!

I remember being terrified when I signed up for my first 5k. It was the Komen for the Cure breast cancer race. I signed up with a group of people and it was actually quite fun. I was excited that my friend and I convinced the team we were with to do the 5k. They were only going to do the mile and some of them weren’t going to do that. So I’m happy that I had a chance to influence someone to do something they thought they didn’t have the ability to do.

From there I did the Get your Rear in Gear colon cancer race. During this race I managed to shave fifteen minutes off my previous time, which sounds like an amazing task but I think it’s such a large number because my first 5k was so slow. If I shaved fifteen minutes off my second time then I’d be impressed with myself!

My next 5k is not scheduled yet but my couch to 5k app is a nine week training program designed to get you ready to RUN a 5k in nine weeks. And my nine weeks is over around Halloween. So I have two 5ks to choose from and I’m excited and terrified at the thought that I’m running in one of them.

I’m going to sign up for the BR Zombie Bash/ TJ Ribs 5k that is on October 7th. This one sounds fun because people are encouraged to dress in costumes and after the race they will gather and do the Thriller dance. And I have to admit that I’m hoping TJ Ribs would be catering! Yum!

The other 5k on my schedule is Fitness for Families 5k in Gonzales. It’s not quite as exciting as the Zombie Bash but this one is October 29 which is week 8 of my couch to 5k training which means I should be able to jog the whole thing! That sounds very exciting in theory but I’m still quite skeptical about me being able to do three miles without walking at all.

I usually find all my 5ks on active.com. Don’t be afraid of the 5k, go to the site and look up one in your area. It’s only a little over 3 miles! You don’t have to run at all your first time. You can walk the whole thing; there are plenty of people who do so. I’m the slowest jogger and walker you’ve probably ever met, so I stay in the back of the race with the fast paced walkers. But I know I don’t give up. I try and shave a few minutes off each race I do with a goal of completing a race in 30-35 minutes.

What’s your running/jogging goals? How did you feel when you did your first 5k? Or if you haven’t done one yet sign up to do one of these with me! I left out the World Run day 5k on November 6th. I think that’s going to be my 30 minute one… Yeah I said it now I just have to make it happen! That’s the power of Positive thinking. Happy Tuesday everyone!

3 responses »

  1. Speaking of 5k, there is a group called Black Girls Run, and the group is in different states and they do 5ks together! http://www.blackgirlsrun.com/

    Reply
  2. Starting my couch to 5K training today. Excited and scared! My goal is to sign up for the Turkey Trot on Thanksgiving!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

