“When it hurts so bad”

I love Lauryn Hill’s album, The Miseducation of Lauryn Hill. I am aware that I may be one of the few people that have this album on their current playlists, but if you haven’t heard it you just don’t know what you’re missing. I remember having this album on repeat during my 8th grade band trip. I don’t remember many details of the trip other than the dreadful dresses we were required to wear and listening to this album during the long bus ride. This particular song, “When it hurts so bad” from that album comes to mind…

When it hurts so bad, when it hurts so bad
Why does it feel so good?…
What you want might make you cry
What you need might pass you by
If you don’t catch it

Being a “closet romantic” these lyrics have multiple meanings for me, but only one is relevant to this post. I often find myself humming these lyrics after or during a demanding workout. And why do you ask? It’s the sweet burn of pushing your body farther than you thought it could go and then feeling the blissful sting of soreness as a reward for your hard work. And I know that may not sound like a desirable feeing to some, but if you are a person who loves exercise as much as I do I’m sure you understand exactly what I mean. I consulted with my doctor (WebMD) for their professional opinion on the issue and here’s what they said…

“Endorphins also trigger a positive feeling in the body, similar to that of morphine. For example, the feeling that follows a run or workout is often described as “euphoric.” That feeling, known as a “runner’s high,” can be accompanied by a positive and energizing outlook on life.”

For all of you that are addicted to exercise I’m sure you can more than understand the high it gives you. I believe people can get addicted to exercise but I think only rarely that becomes a bad thing. Out of all the things in this world people could be addicted to if they chose exercise I think that’s a pretty good decision. (Except if that addiction is along with some type of eating disorder. I do NOT promote unhealthy eating habits in any way.)

Have you ever felt the painful ecstasy of a good workout? There’s no time like the present so what are you waiting for? Join the club and feel the burn! Or if you are a heavy exerciser do you agree that it’s addictive? I know I’m addicted are you? Happy Friday y’all! Let’s make this a fun and active weekend.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Adventures in Body Pump « My Last Fat Year

Leave a Reply

