Adventures in Body Pump

I did not plan to take this class, I think the class had its own plans for me. Saturday morning I made my way to the gym for a Zumba class followed by yoga. But after Zumba I was notified that yoga class was switched to the body pump class. What to do? We read the class description on the wall…

“BODYPUMP is the original bar bell class that strengthens your entire body. This 60-minute workout challenges all your major muscle groups by using the best weight-room exercises like Squats, Presses, Lifts and Curls. Great music, awesome instructors and your choice of weight inspire you to get the results you came for- and fast!”

I have to admit I was a bit scared but still intrigued enough to try the class (maybe it was more that my gym partner wanted to stay and try it). When I peeked into the room and saw weights and aerobic steps I was terrified. But I thought I always say I love a challenge, and this was my chance to prove it.

We were obviously first timers so the instructor gave us a brief run down of what to expect. He informed us that there would be ten songs starting with a warm-up and ending with a cool down. Each of the other eight songs would target a different body part. I’m thinking okay that sounds good, right? Well that’s not what I was thinking as we got about half way through the first song. I knew these would feel like the longest ten songs I’d ever listened to.

It didn’t take long for me to think what did I get myself into? As the songs progressed some areas were more difficult for me and some were less difficult, but none were easy! When it was cool down time I didn’t think I would have the ability to get myself to the car and finish the rest of the things I had planned for the day, but somehow I made it.

This was definitely the most challenging workout I’ve done in some time, and if you talked to me or saw me this weekend I’m sure you are aware of my aching body. I was sore all day Saturday, but when I woke up Sunday I felt like I had a run in with Floyd Mayweather.

With all that being said next Saturday morning you can most definitely find me in body pump class! You may think I’m crazy for wanting to put myself through this again, but if you read Friday’s post then you’d understand! I have to be honest today it hurts so bad that I’m really not feeling the good part yet. But I’m hopeful that tomorrow will be better. Regardless of my temporary pain, my body will be thanking me later for my improved muscle tone, greater endurance, and body fat loss.

You should try a body pump class if you’re looking for a high impact, high paced class where you can literally feel the fat burning off. Spectrum claims a 60 minute class burns 600 calories. I wouldn’t suggest you try this if you don’t have any experience in weight training. But if you aren’t a stranger to the weight room and you want to shake up your regular weight training routine definitely give this a try.

So…care to join me Saturday for body pump? You can be my special guest, I have no doubt that you’d feel the burn! Speaking of burning calories… have you planned your eating and/or exercise goals for this week? Did you meet your goals for last week? I fell short one 5k last week so I’ll tag on an extra one this week. I can’t dwell on that one missed day, I have to focus on all the goals that I WILL meet this week! Happy Monday and Good Luck!

3 responses »

  1. Pingback: Thriller! « My Last Fat Year

  2. Charlotte | livingwellonthecheap

    Woah! You are such a soldier for sticking through the whole class and wanting to go back for more! I’m excited to see where this fitness journey leads you!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

