Don’t fail me now (Please)

This year my fitness goal was to officially become a runner. There’s no official way to be declared a runner, but in my head if I could run a 5k I would be able to confidently call myself a runner. So that’s my goal that I’ve been working towards off and on since about March. I have to say I really think it’s getting the best of me. I’m not at a point where I want to quit, but I am at a point where I can see myself quitting in the near future. Sometimes you just have to declare defeat, you can’t be good at everything, right?

Each jog is getting harder, not easier. I have an old ankle injury that bothers me so I usually wear an ankle brace when I do my walk-jog. So on my last attempt at running my knees started bothering me in addition to my ankle, uh-oh. I really need all of us to work together at these goals so knees, ankles and any other body part that is on the brink of mutiny please don’t fail me now. (Yes that was a personal message to my body. I’ve tried everything else so why not plead with them?)

The last time I went to the doctor for my ankle he gave me a brace and a prescription for the pain. Clearly that was not a long-term solution, but I hope that one day my ankle pain will magically disappear so my running goal could be that much easier for me to obtain.

My pain made it necessary to look up causes and treatments for minor knee pain. So this is what I found

First of all, I’m talking about minor and annoying pain. You should call a doctor if you:

  • Can’t bear weight on your knee
  • Have marked knee swelling
  • Are unable to fully extend or flex your knee
  • See an obvious deformity in your leg or knee
  • Have a fever, in addition to redness, pain and swelling in your knee
  • Fall because your knee “gives out

After thorough research checking out Mayo Clinic Online, I decided that my pain is probably caused by me walking abnormally because of my ankle or because I’m not at a healthy weight. The online doc recommends ice, elevation, compression and rest to soothe my achy knees. Last night I soothed my pain with the help of a muscle relaxer and soak in an Epsom salt bath. That was a great TEMPORARY relief. If knee pain persists I will start wearing knee braces during my adventures in jogging. I am going to look all beat up running with an ankle and knee brace, but if it stops the pain I’m down. I will attempt to keep pushing on until the pain becomes unbearable and I need to see the doctor.

Another solution could be to pick a lower impact activity to conquer. Pilates has always been difficult for me; but for some reason I have this new-found adoration for runners and I would LOVE to be one! I hate people who peek at my treadmill but I found myself doing so last night. This guy did 5 miles in 35 minutes! I was totally in awe! How cool is it to say I’m a runner and I do a 10k in ___ or I do a marathon in __. What would I say if I did Pilates? Man I can hold my plank for like 5 minutes. <– who cares? That is my own personal opinion and I hope I didn’t offend any Pilaters (see they don’t even have a word, I’m just saying) out there in the blogosphere.

Maybe if I keep pleading with my body it’ll stop trying to sabotage me! Have you ever had any physical limitations that you had to overcome?

How’s your exercise plan coming along this week? It’s hump day! Two down and two more to go!

6 responses »

  1. Meant to comment on this the other day. I have horrible knees (don’t know if you know that already or not), which is the number 1 reason I don’t exercise. Excerise seems to aggravate them more. I wanted to know if to could do a post on exercise tips for people with bad knees and/or joints?

    Reply
    • I could definitely do that! I was planning on doing something like that focused on my dad and his knee surgery. Now I’ll try to do it sooner rather than later!

      Reply
  2. I love the scatch through the “thorough research” lol! I get a burning pain in my needs but its when im not doing any activities lol idk maybe its telling me I need to get my ass up and do something!

    Reply
  3. So proud of you! Push through the pain!

    I’m so glad you didn’t WebMD this. Because, as we discussed the other day, you would’ve ended up with a cancer diagnosis. Which most certainly would sabotage your fitness goals.

    My knee is a bit achy as well. But I pushed through it last night and it was only mildly annoying!

    Sidenote: using your blog to self-talk is always hilarious. And “Pilaters”? Love it. Why not make up derogatory terms for a form of exercise you don’t like?

    Reply
    • WebMD is my primary physican I should have checked to see what they would say! I’m glad you oushed through it as well! Maybe next time enjoy an Epsom bath after!

      Self-talk makes me feel like I have mental issues!!! And I’ll give some thought on giving names to things I don’t like but I think I may just have TOO much fun with that!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

