Lesson Learned

Posted on

This morning I totally forgot to step on the scale before I left the house today. I’m out of town so my weigh in will have to be postponed until next Monday. Honestly, I don’t think it would have went very well. But thank you God that I have another week to fix the mistakes that were made last week. I won’t disappoint myself.

Speaking of disappointments… the New Roads Fall Festival was a big one! So I got there a little tardy, as usual! But it was ok because it started about 30 minutes or so late. I was already feeling out of place because there were only about 40 or so people, which included two high school track teams. I’m thinking, ok I’m going to be last! And then a few minutes later the LSU sprint team shows up. My thoughts were ok is it too late to leave yet?

So I became a victim of my negative thoughts and had a very poor race. I do have to say I wasn’t last. Well at least not dead last! So I’ll take this as a lesson learned on how not to have a successful race. Next time preparation will be key and I will NEVER attempt any kind of race or athletic event without working out for the two weeks earlier. (I hope I don’t have to eat my words!)

My next race is the Amazing Raise Presents Battling Bratten on November 19th. It is an Amazing Race style race that is about 2 miles with at least ten challenges to complete during the course. I am excited about this one because I’ve never done this style of race before. You have to register by team if anyone’s interested in competing. Of course my teammate is Dora and I have to get my cardio up so i won’t embarrass her at the race!

I’m not going to beat myself up about the race, it is the past. I realize the mistake I made and I will try my best not to do it again. I can focus on what I can do now to prevent the past from repeating itself.  I do not have a workout plan written out for this week so I’m about to get to that now. Remember if you fail to plan then you plan to fail. So have you made your exercise plan for this week? hurry up, what are you waiting for? I’m doing mine RIGHT NOW! I gotta get ready for next Monday’s weigh in! Think happy thoughts!

Leave a Reply

