I’ve been keeping something from you

 I haven’t intentionally been keeping this from you, well at least not at first. But I think as time passed on I decided not to share because I lost hope in me winning. So what is this tidbit of information that I’ve not been upfront about? I’m in a weight loss challenge with my family.

I had a great post ready to announce it back when we started in October, but I kept waiting to get pictures of us all to add to the post and when that didn’t happen I started to give up on writing about it. When I thought about sharing the challenge again I didn’t do it because I was pretty much admitting defeat and that was not something I wanted to share with our little e-community.

But now, for some reason I’m ready to share. Most likely because I would love to get some advice for these last few weeks of this competition.

Sizing Up the Competition:

My competitors are my mom, dad, and brother. We all weighed in on October 15th and will re-weigh in the beginning of December. The winner is the person who loses the most pounds, there will be no second place or percentage wins calculated. The winner wins a nice sized pot of money that we all contributed to! I can’t think of a better motivator for me than cold hard cash, so I have no idea why I’m waiting until the last-minute to drop a few extra pounds.

Each person has a good reason they should have taken the prize, but at the beginning I was totally convinced I could come in and cause an upset anyways.

My mother has the advantage that this is her first go round at attempting to lose weight. And everyone knows at the beginning of weight loss it falls off quicker than it does once your body has gotten used to your new routines.

And then there’s my dad. He won a New Year’s weight loss challenge at his job earlier this year by dropping an amazing 50-60 pounds. (Don’t judge me because I didn’t do a fact check before writing this, my fairly accurate approximations will have to do.)So clearly he’s no stranger to dropping weight when he’s determined to do so. He was eating a very restricted diet and going to the gym sometimes twice a day. Ugh, that doesn’t look good for me. I don’t think I’m that disciplined.

Lastly and definitely not least is my brother. He didn’t start off as my pick to win this thing but he’s definitely pulling out his guns on the last stretch of this competition. He has dropped a lot of weight in the past and he’s definitely capable of doing so again. He’s a gym rat; sometimes I am sure that he and my dad may have a bed somewhere in there.

I hope everyone does well because they are my family and I love them and want them to be healthy. But hey I want to win!!! Anyone ever been in a weight loss competition? Do you have any quick pound dropping tips to share? Either Friday or Monday I’ll share my plan with y’all.

One response »

  1. Pingback: Progress « My Last Fat Year

Leave a Reply

