Races aren’t all about winning

The race on Saturday was so fun! It was a smaller crowd, which I’m normally not very fond of but you were so focused on your clues that nothing else really mattered. We didn’t do well in the race, but I’m not worried about that because I had a great workout and a great time. It turned out that this really didn’t involve much running at all; it was a scavenger hunt through downtown Baton Rouge.

As we got our first clue and started off to our first destination we were feeling great. We arrived at our destination and we had to play in the fountains in front of the Shaw Center and fill up bottles of water using small cups. SO as we completed our first challenge and tried to get our stamp for doing so, we realized that our bag and passport (this is the book that held all our stamps) was missing! So another team, which ended up being the winning team, had taken our stuff that we recovered at the next stop. You think that’s a coincidence? I think not!

But after that slight “accident” we had a few tough challenges ahead of us. There were eleven challenges in all. Some of them were really cute and some of them were difficult. We had to find certain stores and find items on their menu, read inscriptions on buildings and my least favorite was counting the number of different symbols on the fence surrounding the old state capital. I think the people who put this together were obviously very creative and it seemed like all the participants had a good time. Next time I enter one of their races I will practice my Sudoku skills and my blind bean bag toss. And then maybe I can be victorious!

On a more serious note, The Amazing Raise is an organization that designs, organizes and administers an “Amazing Race” style race fundraiser for different causes. Our race this past Saturday was a fundraiser for a little girl named Emily with Batten’s disease. Batten disease is a disorder of the nervous system that causes a child to develop vision problems or seizures. In some cases the early signs are subtle, taking the form of personality and behavior changes, slow learning, clumsiness, or stumbling. Over time, affected children suffer mental impairment, worsening seizures, and progressive loss of sight and motor skills. Eventually, children with Batten disease become blind, bedridden, and demented. Batten disease is often fatal by the late teens or twenties.

This was a great race and a great cause, if you’re from the Baton Rouge or surrounding area I hope you’ll come out and join us for the next Amazing Raise. I’m sure it’ll be for a great cause as well. I’ll make sure to let you know when the next race is posted. Happy Turkey week!

I didn’t forget my weigh in this week. The scale read 232.8 this morning. That’s 1.4 pounds down from last week! I hope you each have a happy scale this week too!

Leave a Reply

