“Recipe” and Fantastic Pasta Swap

My dinner last night was an appetizer of broccoli followed by stewed okra and finished off with fresh strawberries! It was delicious, who needs meat? So I attempted to keep up with what I was putting in my okra, but I was unsuccessful. And I totally ate way too much! I brought both to lunch along with apples, mandarins, bananas and berries! I can’t wait for lunch time!

When I dreamed up this blog I thought I would put various recipes and share my love of experimenting in the kitchen, but I’ve been blogging for a while and I haven’t shared one recipe. So would you accept a list of ingredients in my okra?

So here’s what I put in my stewed okra:

  •  2 bags of sliced frozen okra
  • 6 small tomatoes (quartered)
  • Red pepper flakes
  • Garlic cloves
  • Season all
  • Salt and pepper to taste
  • ½ large white onion
  • Olive oil
  • 4 Bay leaves
  • Italian dressing

I think that’s a complete list, Oh but I felt I didn’t have enough garlic and onion (I’m a garlic lover) so I added onion powder and minced garlic that I found in the fridge. I started with the onions and garlic and let them get all fragrant in the pot then I added the okra along with all the seasonings. Since they need to cook for a while (since they’re frozen) I waited about ten minutes or so to add the tomatoes. I love cooking with Italian dressing! It may be my favorite seasoning. Not so good for people who are watching their sodium, sorry.

So this is my pathetic excuse at sharing a “recipe”. I’ll make it my homework to properly measure and share a proper recipe by next Friday. What shall I cook? Any suggestions? I’m such a mad scientist in the kitchen. I’m constantly tasting and adding things. I’ll control and properly document all the madness and hopefully I’ll have a proper step by step recipe to follow sometime next week.

But I do want to share one of the most amazing finds I’ve made this year.

                                                          Serving Size: 4 oz.
                                                          Calories: 20
                                                          Fat:  .5g
                                                          Carbs: 3g
                                                          Protein: 1g
                                                          Fiber: 2g

You can get your pasta fix without the calories! These things have changed my life. They are kind of pricey at $2.99 per bag (which is only 2 servings). But I think I’d rather take a hit on my budget than my waistline.  A traditional 2 ounce noodle serving is 210 calories, 1 gram of fat, 42 grams of carbs, 7 grams of protein and 2 grams of fiber! Did you notice that the Shiitake noodle serving is twice the serving size of the traditional noodles? I don’t know about you but I don’t usually limit myself to 2 ounces of noodles, so I would have o multiply those numbers by two or three!

I just substitute them in my traditional noodle recipes. They come refrigerated in a liquid. Let me warn you, this liquid is extremely smelly. To prepare them you just have to thoroughly rinse them and warm them in the microwave. Super easy! Sometimes I’ll add them to my microwave dinner to make it more filling without adding many calories. Taste-wise I think they’re fine but it’s the tofu texture I have to get used to. I mix them with regular pasta when I cook for my niece and nephew and they don’t know the difference. Here in Baton Rouge you can find the noodles at Fresh Market on Perkins. That’s the only place I’ve located them so far. Whole Foods didn’t carry it the last time I checked.

Does that make up for my impossible to follow recipe? Let me know if you try my okra recipe or the tofu noodles! Two more days until the weekend, I can’t wait! Fruits, veggies and beans…. yum! I’m really not missing meat at all yet! Happy Hump Day.

Xoxo.

Carnisha

 

Leave a Reply

