Happy 2012

Posted on

So I know this is probably a topic that most bloggers will address this week, so if it’s not broke I won’t try to fix it. I’ve never been big on resolutions and proclaiming that my life will all of a sudden be different because I have a new calendar. But I do often set new goals for myself.

So this year since I know better, I will do better and I will be better. Not enough of a resolution for you all? I want to apply this to every aspect of my life. As I get older I can not hide behind the mistakes of my past.

But I brought in the new year with my first dinner party! I was extremely excited and so nervous about it. Of all the items on my menu I’ve only cooked one before (roast), so I was extremely nervous that at least one recipe would go wrong. And then it was my first time cooking for 15 people.

Everything ended up great, there are some changes I would make for next time (including not going out to party in a different city the night before) but I enjoyed myself and all of my guests seemed to do so as well. I also was very excited when I walked around and saw all the empty plates! Go ME! The six hours of cooking was worth every minute.

The menu

Appetizers: chicken and bell pepper mini pizzas

Main Course: Beef roast, cornbread, cabbage, and black-eyed peas

Dessert: Chocolate chip smore cookies

My favorite was the cornbread. It was yummy. But I was most impressed by how tasty my black-eyed peas were. Signs of a good meal…

After pulling that off I have more faith than ever in my culinary abilities and plan to do more cooking in the future. I didn’t lighten any of the recipes except I had smoked turkey in the peas instead of pork. The cabbage had bacon in it and the cookies, well chocolate chips, Hershey candy bar pieces, graham crackers… there wasn’t much I could do to lighten up that recipe.

A little self-indulgence is often necessary 🙂

I know I should but when I’m cooking for others I tend not to lighten it up. I rather have something tasty that they’ll eat than something healthy that no one will touch. But my cooking challenge will be to find a happy medium there. So for my next party I will have lighter recipes and hopefully it’ll be in my own home! (that’s a big 2012 goal) Dishwasher is a definite must.

What are you going to do differently this year? When we are no longer able to change a situation, we are challenged to change ourselves.  ~Victor Frankl

5 responses »

  1. I’ve been thinking about you since New Years and wondering if your regular gym has been invaded by all those folks who made resolutions to lose weight! I’m pretty sure I’ve already gained ten pounds with this pregnancy so come October or so I’ll probably be begging you for weight loss advice. I see you won your family challenge–congrats! Happy new year!

    Reply
    • First of all…I’m so excited about the baby and all the projects he or she will inspire!

      And I try my best to avoid the gym and only do other forms of exercise in January. I think I’ll be able to get my act together by October and I’ll be more than happy to help you get off the excess. Happy New Year to you too, it’s gonna be a big one for you!!!

      Reply
  2. Hello, I am so glad that succeeded with your meals and you are becoming a success with your weightloss as well! That’s lots of determination and motivation! Love your blog. Happy New Year’s

    Reply
  3. Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

