You’ll always remember your first

Posted on
Restoration Park West Monroe, LA

Looking back at all the posts I’ve done, how could I not start with the very first one? If I had to pick one absolute favorite it may have to be this one. You always remember your first. I hope you enjoy this one from August 24, 2011…

 My Official Declaration

I’m here and I’m really doing this! Ok, if you can’t tell I’m really excited. The goal is to drop 75 pounds from my all time high recorded on February 2010. So roughly I have about 21 weeks to lose 38 pounds. And I know that may sound very simple but it has taken me over a year to lose 45 pounds and then I started gaining back. So now I will focus on this 75 and then I’ll decide if I need to drop more or if I just need to switch my focus to maintaining my weight.  The official goal date will be January 17, 2012 (my 27th birthday). But this is how I came up with this challenge…

I was wondering what was necessary to keep myself motivated and make sure that I achieve this goal. Walking through this beautiful landscape (pictured above) it kind of hit me like a Mack truck between the eyes… this will be my last fat year. And I kept saying it to myself as I walked along the trail and the more I said it the more I believed it. YES! THIS WILL BE MY LAST FAT YEAR! But a verbal proclamation would not be adequate so I thought social media is the only way to go.

I was stoked about my idea and started to think about it more. What if I just wrote about it instead? That would give me accountability and hopefully an audience to motivate me along the way. I often get people who stop and ask me what I have done to lose the weight and each time I ponder my answer. I want to say a million different things but I know none of it is what they want to hear. My normal reply is I changed my life. And of course that is not the answer they are looking for but there’s no simpler way I can answer that, unless you want to have a conversation that’ll last a few hours. So since I have so much to say I decided a blog would be a great way to get the word out. Hey if you want to know how I lost the weight and how I will continue to lose the weight stay posted because this is the forum I’ll be using to discuss it.

 I’ve tried several things. Some I’ve enjoyed and some I haven’t but we have plenty of time to discuss it all. If you’re trying to lose just a few pounds, make healthier choices or redesign your body you should take this adventure with me. They’ll be victories to be celebrated and hurdles to overcome but I am ready to tackle it all. Are you ready? Is this your last fat year too? If not this year then when?

Leave a Reply

