Problem Solving

Posted on

I hoped you checked out my post on Monday, Vacation Sins, where I shared how my vacation went as well as some pictures from my trip. I also confessed that I didn’t exercise enough and ate much more than enough. So the first step to solving a problem is admitting that there is one. Check. So step two is to make a plan to do something about it and then the final step is to carry out your plan.

My trip ended Thursday but I did not have to go back to work until Monday. I had every intention of doing at least a small workout on Friday, but that did not happen. Ok so plan B. Saturday morning I went and did a body pump class. If you’re not familiar with that you can check out my post about it here. Bodypump always leaves me sore, exhausted, and wanting more. It may be my favorite class that I’ve ever taken. One day I’d like to teach that class… When my body gets as rock hard as the instructors I’ll be ready!

But that was Saturday. On Sunday I met up with my local Black Girls Run group for their weekly beginner’s run and speedwork. I was nervous about attending because I think everyone in a running group would probably run circles around me. But much to my surprise the group was filled with women from all different skill levels. There was a 2 mile walk/jog which was enough to get my heart pump and I could have went home after that but I stayed and decided to take part in the next activity.

Speedwork. I was a little apprehensive about what this would entail but I decided to give it a shot anyways. In my mind I picture sprints and suicides and other things that I know my body did not want to do. But we did the stairs at the state capitol. It was difficult and my body did not want to do it but I was glad I did and I can’t wait to see what’s in store for me next week. We did sets of stairs and alternated lunges, squats, push ups, etc. That was tough but worth it. I think this will be my new Sunday workout. I’m stoked about it and the group. It’s a very positive atmosphere to work out in to have so many women encouraging you and pushing you forward.

Due to my activity levels on Saturday and Sunday I did not exercise on Monday. I was so sore that I just wanted to focus on performing my day-to-day tasks without falling out somewhere. Don’t worry I’m exaggerating! But yesterday I did a core class at my gym that I enjoyed.

So the plan for the rest of the week is to do a circuit class tonight, body combat or body pump class tomorrow and possibly add the core class if I can make it. Then Friday I don’t plan to exercise but maybe I’ll do a little neighborhood 2-3 mile walk.

I think that’s a pretty good plan to right my wrongs from last week. I’m trying to get back to exercising 4-6 times a week instead of just 2 or 3. Swimsuit season will be here before I know it and I hope to be on a beach somewhere looking hot and fit. And to do so I have to buckle down and crank up the intensity.

If you’re interested in the black girls run group you can send me an email or just comment here. And FYI it’s not just for black girls! All women are welcome to join. So it would be great if you come out and meet me one Sunday or the group has various runs throughout the week for various skill levels. Come out it’ll be fun. Here’s to a great swimsuit body!

 

One response »

  1. Reblogged this on Inspiredweightloss.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

