Me, myself and I

Posted on

I vaguely remember doing a post like this before, but if I need to remind myself then I see nothing wrong with repeating myself. It would actually be a lot easier to just find that post and simply repost it, but I won’t do that.

I have to constantly remind myself that this is MY journey. No one benefits as much as I do if I succeed. I have to get my butt up and exercise. I have to watch what I’m eating. I do understand I have help sometimes and that I need help at times, but ultimately weight loss is extremely personal and no one can do it for me.

I do think everyone that reads helps me tremendously. Everyone I’ve ever worked out with or discussed a health or weight related issue has helped as well. But at the end of the day I have to do this for me. My body has to last me until the good Lord decides to take me home. And if I don’t take care of it properly and develop diabetes, high blood pressure or the various other obesity related diseases it’s going to hurt me more than anything else.

I am learning over and over again that I have to rely on myself. It’s no one else’s obligation to make sure I’m doing what I need to be doing or that I’m not sitting in front of the television stuffing my face with junk food. I’m my own responsibility. I have people in my corner rooting for me but they can’t fight this disease for me, I have to. Losing weight isn’t a team sport. It’s an individual one. I can have coaches and people who help me train but success or failure is really up to me.

Thanks for coaching, guiding or just supporting me. But now I’m stepping back up to the plate and believing in myself again. In the famous words of Mrs. Beyonce Knowles, I realized I got me, myself and I. That’s all I got in the end. That’s what I found out. And it ain’t no need to cry, I took a vow that from now on I’m gonna be my own best friend.”

Leave a Reply

