Faking it (and no not that)

Posted on

No beating around the bush or witty opener, it’s weigh day so let’s get down to business. Over the past week I’ve put on a little over a pound and a half tipping the scale at 244.6. Whoa! I did do a weight routine Saturday so maybe I gained a pound of muscle??? Yeah I’m not really buying that either. My mom made some delicious shrimp and crawfish fettuccine yesterday and I CAN believe I ate a pound and a half worth of that! I did manage to avoid bringing any with me to work today though.  I know that’s not very motivational, but it’s real. My appetite has always been enormous and that’s something I really struggle with. I need to figure out how to get it in check so that I can start to make progress on my goals. And tip the scale the other way. But until then I’ll just fake a slimmer physique with fashion!

It’s no secret that I’ve been feeling like I could have a seat at the Klump family’s dinner table. I have struggled with my weight and feeling comfortable with my body. As I work to make changes, I try to camouflage my figure flaws with clothing and other little tricks that draw your eye away from my expanding waistline.

Here are my tips:

Staying properly groomed and manicured. (And yes I know I’m not a dog but winning best in show isn’t just for puppies!) I think bright manicures and pedicures help give people something pretty to focus on. And if you know me you’d know I’m slightly obsessed with my eyebrows. Bringing the attention up to my hair or face with mascara, eyeliner and well-groomed brows makes me feel a lot more comfortable in my skin.

Clothing! The easiest way to conceal a larger figure is to distract from the problem areas and focus on what you’ve got, all while making your body look much more proportionate. I know the ladies with hour-glass figures don’t have to worry about proportions, but me and most other American women are not blessed enough to be in that category. I have very broad shoulders AND a slightly large chest compared to my straighter bottom half. To balance that out and look leaner I try to wear a darker colors on top so it visually balances me out a bit. And I try not to wear fussy patterns or too much detail up top. But if you have the opposite problem and you are pear-shaped (your hips are larger than your top half) you would want to wear more details and/or lighter colors up top.

Here’s my super slim- feeling outfit:

Black cardigan from Target. This is probably the exact one I have. Target is definitely my go to place for cardigans. I always know they’l l have a large selection of colors.

White short sleeve button down shirt. No picture necessary, right? Make sure it’s kinda thin and preferably no fussy details (ruffles, etc).

Grey pin-stripe pants. I always feel longer and leaner in pinstripes. And I think that outfit is slimming perfection.

This would have been a great time to share a picture of myself, but I haven’t gotten around to hiring a photographer to follow me around! But for girls with my shape (inverted triangle) White pants are awesome! I LOVE white pants. They actually make me look very shapely when a wear them with a solid color top.

JCPenny Wrap dress

Layers are a top heavy gal’s best friend. Creating a line for the eye to travel is SO slimming. But make sure you aren’t doing bulky layers because that would just make a gal like me get mistaken for a linebacker.

Here is a body type calculator I found on a prom dress post. If you figure out your type you can find out what’s the most flattering clothes for your shape. I’m a mixture of inverted triangle and rectangle so I try to incorporate the rules for both when I try to dress my best.

 

This is another one of my loves. I wouldn’t think this neckline would be flattering on my figure, but surprisingly it is. It’s from Modcloth. Their vintage style clothing is so flattering for women. And this dress definitely doesn’t disappoint. When I first tried it on all I thought was like wow I look a lot slimmer and so ladylike. So it’s definitely a keeper. I’m looking forward to wearing it in about a month or so! I can’t wait. Anyone have any accessory ideas? I was thinking dangle earrings, updo and maybe an oversized fancy ring?

I hope you find your perfect faking it outfits because I think I’ve got mine down. And we can fake it and look great but we still need to keep giving it our all and trying to really reach our goals instead of hiding behind cute clothes and well groomed appearances. Happy Monday! I’m hopeful that next weel’s weigh in will go a little better.

5 responses »

  1. I really enjoyed reading this post. However, I find it extremely important to go the extra mile to make yourself be presentable when you are a big girl. Although I must say that being a plus sized woman is rather on the expensive side and I often have trouble trying to find nice clothes that fit and that are affordable. However with the young woman advising you to see a Dietitian I honestly do not agree with this simply because I have been there see that and done that from 2005 until 2010. Most Dietitians in my eyes do not understand what it means to be flat broke and poor. In fact, they actually have you buy the most expensive healthy foods in the store that an average person cannot afford. Another problem that I have with Dietitians is that they always talk down on the patient as if they are not trying to lose the weight. I mean if it were that simple then we would not have a fat America. You have to do what is best for your pocketbook as well as for your body.

    Reply
    • That is a very good point, I see a post about affordable health food in the near future! However that was not my problem with nutritionists. From my experiences they give me pamphlets and tell me what I should and shouldn’t eat. I’ve never had the feeling that they were working with me or trying to find options that were best for my preferences. They just gave me the same run down that everyone else received.

      But in the defense of nutritionists past I must say that I’ve never been to the same one twice so I really didn’t give them a chance to work with me. I really appreciate your prospective Tynesha and thanks for the post idea!

      Reply
      • You are welcome and it was no problem at all. I really enjoy reading your blog but I thought that I was already following you and I just realized as of yesterday that I have not been receiving any updates on your latest posts. However, I am glad that I fixed that slight problem late yesterday evening. Speaking of Doctors and Dietitians the last time I was in the presence of Dietitian was in 2010 and she wanted me to do some Tyler Perry type stuff. I was told to take a sheet of paper then write on one side what I liked about myself and then on the other side write what I did not like about myself. That entire experience too me was horrible because in my eyes she was trying to make it seem as though because I’ am over weight that I was trying to kill myself. I told her that if I were trying to kill myself I do not think I would have come to you for help. Again, I really enjoy reading your blog and I wish you the best of luck with your weight loss efforts.

  2. I see that you’re trying to lose weight and I’ll be honest, I stumbled upon your blog from pinterest. Have you tried talking to a Registered Dietitian? This is someone with a degree in nutrition (note: anyone can be a nutritionist really). Here in the Houston area, I work from Carol Lapin of CSL Nutritional Services. (www.cslnutritionalservices.com). She’s got lots of info on her web about things like portion sizes, reading off labels, a grocery shopping tour online. I suggest checking her out and eatright.org to see if you can get set up. I applaud you for doing what you can on your own but sometimes a professional’s involvement may be a key to helping you out. Also, check out fitday.com. Keep food records and see what nutrients you’re missing out on. Good luck!

    Reply
    • It doesn’t matter how you found it, as long as you ended up here! And yes I’ve spoken to nutritionists before but I’ve never worked with one. That would be a big help to my problems. I’ll look in to that. Thanks Stephanie!

      Reply

Leave a Reply

