On the right track

Posted on

I was having a hard time pulling myself out of bed this morning and due to that fact stepping on the scale was the last thing on my mind. I’m normally not a snoozer and when I do so it almost always leads to a late and sluggish start to my morning. I think the problem is I’m not a five or ten minute snoozer; I’m a twenty or thirty minute snoozer. And the funny part is I’m usually not getting any extra shut eye. I’m either lying in the bed watching the morning news or checking my email. With that not-so0brief disclaimer out of the way, I can share my weight for last week that I didn’t get a chance to post up.

Last Monday I weighed in at 257.8 pounds. That was an easy 1.8 pounds down from the previous week. All I did was make a few changes that I felt were relatively east to sustain. I stopped drinking all beverages except for water, stopped eating at 8pm every night, and took the stairs instead of elevator whenever possible. I added more vegetables to my daily diet and vowed no fast food.

The only one of those I had a problem with was not taking the elevator. I only broke that rule two or three times (including this morning), but I think that’s really significant because I didn’t break the other rules even once. This morning I saw my normal parking spot by the stairs was occupied, so I parked by the front door and said oh well to the stairwell. Not buying my excuse? Ah well me neither. I was just being lazy this morning.

In order to keep the momentum up I vowed to work out at least twice last week, and I was able to stay true to that. Wednesday evening I went to my gym for the first time in months. It was hard psychologically at first, but when I got in there I just did some light cardio and was glad that I did. And then Saturday morning I attended a spinning class which was pretty good.

This week I will continue all the things I’ve done for the past couple weeks, but I’m going to New Orleans and I’ve decided I can finally drink something other than water. I just don’t feel their tap is up to par with ours and I hardly ever order a glass of water when I’m eating out there. And anyone who’s ever been to New Orleans knows there’s a lot of eating out done there! So that’s my challenge this week… don’t let my eating out get the best of me. Make better decisions at restaurants and I’ll make sure to keep you updated on how that goes for me.

I’m on the right track and I’m glad I decided to take things slowly this time around. I had to realize that just because pushing myself really hard worked the first time it doesn’t mean it’ll work this time. And if we’re just being honest here I guess it really didn’t work the first time because I wasn’t able to sustain the loss. Now I’m looking for a more permanent fix, I don’t want to be the girl that yo-yos up and down. I’d much rather just take it off slowly. So that’s what I’m going to do! I have a coworker who has lost over 100 pounds and was able to keep it off over the years. Her advice to me was everyday you have to make a decision. I decide not to eat that cake when everyone is celebrating. I decided to eat like the 130 pound me I want to be and not the 260 pound girl I once was, because I know if I eat like her I will start to look like her again. I know this will always be a struggle for me because that person is inside of me and I will have to fight her every day for the rest of my life.

Talking to her I realized what my problem was, even though I didn’t reach my goal weight I thought that fixing my weight problem was a one-time issue. I’d lose the weight and just not have to deal with it anymore. But the truth is no matter if I reach my goal weight I will have to fight to stay there and to stay healthy. Reality is I’m not a naturally thin gal. I have to fight genetics, nature and my norms to get to where I want to be and stay there. This battle will never be over, but it can come to a truce when I learn how to manage it properly.

Has anyone out there been able to sustain their weight loss over the years? What are the challenges you face doing so and how do you overcome them?

Leave a Reply

