Let’s Make a Plan

Posted on

I really enjoy cooking so meal planning is something I can definitely do. I hate blindly going to the grocery story and making $100 of purchases then going home and not knowing what to cook. That makes no sense! And then I end up wasting so much food. So meal planning is not only good for my waistline, but it will also benefit my wallet! I’m all for that.

My meal planner was under $10 and purchased from Target. It’s a simple dry erase board with spaces for lunch, dinner and notes each day. And it also came with a note pad for a grocery list. I really like it and I hope he and I will get to know each other much better!

Meal planner

This week’s meal plan consists of cooking four meals and making tuna for lunch a couple days.

Monday I made a beef stew/stroganoff type of thing. It had a base more like a stew but I can’t call it a stew because I didn’t put other vegetables in the recipe. I know I really should have. But I paired it with a nice sized salad.
photo (1)

I know you’re looking and this and thinking what’s healthy about this? Well…

It’s not real pasta, it’s tofu noodles! That’s a big fat, carb and calorie cut right there. Two servings of these noodles only contain 40 calories, 6 grams of carbs, 1 gram of fat and 30 mg of sodium. So much better than pasta! You can check out my post about Shirataki tofu noodles here. 

My salad including Creamy French dressing and a serving of olives was only 220 calories and my main dish was only 280 calories thanks to my pasta swap. That’s a hearty, filling and tasty meal for 500 calories! Now that’s a nice start to my week.

My other meals planned for this week include baked fish and veggies, pizza with a cauliflower crust and a homemade chili. I’m not sure what I’m most excited about… I’ve always wanted to make a homemade chili, but if I like this cauliflower pizza then that’s a great way to get my pizza fix without the carbs and calories of traditional pizza. I’m excited about this…. I’ll definitely let you all know how it goes.

You also may notice that I have juice at the top of my calendar. I ordered my juicer last year and really enjoyed it. It got packed up and brought to the new house and I haven’t pulled it out since. But that’s about to change! I want to have juice for breakfast at least twice a week and I will share my favorite recipes with you all.

If you stumbled yesterday, guess what? You were blessed with another day to get it right! Let’s all make today a good one and vow to give it our best shot.

Happy Friday eve

Xoxo,

Carnisha

2 responses »

  1. I think planning meals is half the battle for alot of people, if you have it planned you are less likely to grab something random! If you like to cook that’s an added bonus!!! I really like the cauliflower pizza crust!! I tend to cook sprend it thin and cook it until it’s crunchy on the sides!! Just don’t forget to cook it on parchment paper or it could lead to frustration getting it off the pan!!! Been there!!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

