8.22.13

Posted on

It’s my anniversary! I started this blog by posting, My official declaration on August 22, 2011. Man, I remember all the emotions I was feeling as I typed that post up in my hotel room in Monroe, Louisiana. And funny enough two years later I’m posting again from a hotel in Monroe, Louisiana.

As I look back on the last two years of my life, I realize they have been filled with life altering events, many firsts, lots of emotion, love and heartbreak. I’ve come a long way and done so much. If you would have told me two years ago that I’d be sitting in a hotel and as heavy as I am today I wouldn’t believe you. Even though I let myself gain the weight, I think that I am such a stronger person than I was 730 days ago. I know that I can turn this around and take hold of my health because at this point it’s definitely not just me wanting to look better or buy pretty clothes but my weight is at the point where it affects my health and my day to day life.

A few months ago I called to get life insurance. The representative I talked to asked me my weight and I said about 260. During that call she asked me at least three times if I was sure that I weighed 260. And I began to get offended and said yes and I was rounding up just to be sure. She then let me know that 260 is the cut off point and they don’t offer insurance to people who weigh more than that. My quote was so high I did not purchase insurance. How awful is it that I can’t get life insurance at my current weight or if it’s offered I can’t afford it?

It is customary to celebrate anniversaries, so today I’m going to celebrate mine at the gym! I can’t let myself turn 30 (in a year and a half) tiptoeing around 300 pounds. There’s no reason for my five foot five frame to be holding that much weight.

So today, I’m going to declare to do better. I will not be this heavy in two years. I will not be this heavy next year! I’m ready to get serious, because if I don’t get serious about changing my life then I am essentially giving up on myself and that’s not about to happen. One day obesity related diseases will not be a threat to me at all.

Cheers to my anniversary y’all! Celebrate with me by going out and burning some calories for me!

I have to add that I started a post that I was supposed to put up last Monday that said what I’ve been doing and where I revealed my weight. Logically it should have come before this post, but I couldn’t miss my anniversary! So look for me to update that post so I can let you all know what’s been going on in my little corner of this world annnnnnnnnnnnnndddddddddddddddd how much I weigh. Talk to you soon, have a great weekend!

 

One response »

  1. Hi Carnisha,
    I just wanted to stop by and wish you a Happy Anniversary. I am also sorry that the insurance company turned you down to be insured through their company. This is actually the second time that I have heard this. The first time I got wing of this was from one of my Aunts but I honestly thought it was something that she had heard through the grapevine therefore I did not believe it was true. Unfortunately, I see that it is true. I also wanted to let you know that my offer still stands for you to join the 90-Day Challenge program.

    http://goo.gl/ejAoZs

    Reply

Leave a Reply

