Changes

Posted on

I’m pleased to say that I’ve lost 5 pounds since I was supposed to post my last weigh in two weeks ago! That’s some really good news. I was weighing in at 279.4, but this morning I hopped on the scale and was down to 274.4. That’s still a huge number that I’m not quite comfortable with but at least it’s going in the right direction.

For the past year I’ve been pretty much ignoring my weight and letting it spiral out of control. I have felt guilty for not stepping on the scale because I didn’t want to face reality. My clothes were getting tighter and tighter and my energy level was only getting lower. I didn’t know my exact weight, but I knew it wasn’t going to be pretty. I thought that I do a lot of walking on my job and cutting grass every week would be all the exercise I needed. But clearly I was wrong.

Now that I have to make some pretty big adjustments in my life I thought it would be a great time to add some exercise and healthy eating to the mix. I have to make time for school because I have been accepted to the Professional MBA program at LSU and I couldn’t be more excited.

I will be going to school after work Monday and Tuesday evenings from 6-9:15, so I’m not even going to try to act like I’ll be doing any exercise on those days. But I can try to eat healthier breakfasts and lunches. We are served a full three course meal each day before class. Whose idea was it to feed us before a 3 hour evening class? I think they are just asking to put us to sleep, so that’s another reason I try to take a light serving of the carbs and steer clear of the sweets. The past few evenings I’ve caved in to bread twice and have avoided dessert. But these meals are usually pretty heavy so I try to make sure that at least half of my plate is covered with vegetables or salad. I don’t plan to skimp dessert every single time, but I think it’s a good practice to start.

My hope is that adding school and everything that comes along with it will make me plan better and map out specific times to exercise. The goal is two workouts per week not including walking to do inspections during work or cutting grass. That should be a good start to my recommitment.

I’m super excited about school so I hope some of this excited/nervous energy can make me get my butt up and do some exercise. My fingers are crossed. And I can’t forget… GEAUX TIGERS!!!

8 responses »

  1. Charlotte | livingwellonthecheap

    Carnisha, that’s wonderful! I’m so happy for you! Congrats on both the weight loss and the MBA program.

    Reply
  2. Congrats on your weight loss. I am so happy for you. Make it a great day and keep pushing forward in completing your weight loss goals.

    Reply
  3. I think you’ll do it

    Reply

Leave a comment