That Fat Girl

Some words hurt and others have a way of rolling right off your skin. Being called a fat girl started to become just who I was and not even sting the way many people thought it should. That’s what and who I am. I am that fat girl.

I weighed myself yesterday and wasn’t at all shocked by the number on the scale. If I’m being honest, I actually thought it would have been a little higher. The scale read 273.8, which means my BMI is 48, which is in the extremely obese category. Just to for a frame of reference, a healthy BMI is between 19-24. (You can check your BMI using this WebMd calculator.)

I have to decide not to identify as that fat girl anymore. I don’t want to do things that are stereotyped for that type of person. It’s pretty similar to a decision I had to make a long time ago not to be that black girl. I hate labeling myself because I don’t think there’s just one box that I fit into. I am a beautiful collection of bits and pieces from all different categories. I am that girly girl, that tomboy, that religious girl, that ourdoorsy girl, that loving girl, that nerdy girl, that quiet girl, the list goes on and on but it does include that fat girl. At least, for now. But I won’t let you single me out into any one of those categories because it doesn’t define me. I am a unique combination of so many things and I want to embrace them all. Sometimes I’m incredibly timid and other times I may seem like the life of the party. Now I am a fat girl, but I will not be that girl forever.

There’s no point in dreaming if you aren’t willing to get up and put the work in to make it reality. A hard lesson to learn, but when you learn it whole heartedly, it will change your life forever. I am such a dreamer, but now I know that you have to wake up in order to make your dreams become reality.

So day by day I will continue to prove to myself what’s important in my life. I’m so excited, scared and nervous about these changes, but I realize it’s necessary. I will put my money where my mouth is so to say and prove to me and everyone else that I am willing and able to wake up and stop dreaming. It’s time for action.

I sincerely hope that you all start or continue making strides to conquer your dreams. There’s a long road ahead but the longer you wait, the farther away it becomes. SO what are you waiting for?

2 responses »

  1. Charlotte | livingwellonthecheap

    I just love you. You are so wise.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

